Home > News > Sea Girls announce new album ‘Homesick’

Sea Girls announce new album ‘Homesick’

New album out January 14th 2022

Sea Girls return with new album
© Blackksocks

Having recently announced their new album Homesick for January 14th, Sea Girls today share the video for their current single Sick. The Joseph Delaney directed video (Ashnikko, HMLTD) was filmed in Hackney and matches the songs’ lyrics in which singer Henry Camamile reflects on the things that make him sick. Watch and listen below.

Camamile commented on the video:


It was very important that this video felt real and didn’t stray from the intended feelings of frustration and repetition I was feeling in my life when this song was written. Being a filmmaker Joseph our Director totally felt the song’s meaning

The new track follows on from soundtrack single Accident Waiting To Happen as well as the top 3 debut album Open Up Your Head. Frontman Henry Camamile commented on Sick:

Sick is me listing things I’m pissed off with and feeling sorry for myself, it’s a growing up song where I realise I’m no longer a young child. It’s me in my bedroom at home ranting with my thoughts and going down the hole of being pissed. I am sick of everything – from things I used to love through to things that feel vacuous, like consuming and buying. All these emotions are piling up and it’s me just asking for a reset, a childish solution.

It was a turning point in the writing for this album where the songs became about worrying for other people and how they were feeling. The pivot where I started writing clearly with a bigger perspective. I literally feel myself growing up throughout this song.

It’s little to not at all surprising that Homesick was written and recorded during the pandemic. At the start of which frontman Henry returned to his childhood home in Lincolnshire which would be the main inspiration for the 10+ new tracks. The result is a very personal record that sees the lead singer reflect on past events. The album was co-produced by Larry Hibbitt, Jacknife Lee (The Killers, Snow Patrol, Bloc Party), Jonny Coffer and Cass Lowe.

Speaking about making the new album Henry said:

Imagine us locked down in the studio in rainy Brixton working with the producers remotely on the album in California’s Topanga Canyon. That clashing of worlds is the sound of this record, the DNA. Making an album this way, remotely and 5000 miles apart, was a crazy idea and shouldn’t have worked, but it did.

Homesick artwork and tracklisting

Sea Girls Homesick album artwork
  1. Hometown
  2. Sick
  3. Lonely
  4. Someone’s Daughter Someone’s Son
  5. Sleeping With You
  6. Paracetamol Blues
  7. Again Again
  8. Lucky
  9. Higher
  10. Cute Guys
  11. Friends
  12. Watch Your Step (Deluxe Formats)
  13. I Got You (Deluxe Formats)

With new music under their belt, Sea Girls are taking their infamously raucous live shows to the stage. Having already wowed festival stages at Readings / Leeds,TRNSMT, Neighbourhood and Latitude, the band are gearing up for their biggest UK and European gigs to date starting this October (tickets here*).

Homesick is out on January 14th 2022 via Polydor on limited edition vinyl* and digitally.


Official Sea Girls Vinyl & Merch* Sea Girls Tickets*

Deborah Jacobs

Music blogger by night, SEO by day. Started Indie is not a Genre in 2011, will always prefer live music over recordings and intimate pub gigs over arena shows.

This page may contain affiliate links to providers from whom Indie Is Not A Genre receives a commission. These links are marked with an asterisk (*).

Scroll to Top