The Blinders Release New Single, ‘Fight For It’, And Announce New EP

Home > News > The Blinders Release New Single, ‘Fight For It’, And Announce New EP

Today sees Manchester band The Blinders release their brand new single, Fight For It, after its premiere last night by Steve Lamacq on his BBC 6Music show. The track is the first to be released from the band’s upcoming EP, Electric Kool-Aid (Part II) which is set to be released on May 13th.

Potentially the lightest song the band has ever released, Fight For It’, is a dreamy anthem, tinged with psychedelia, created to battle life’s daily tests, and comes packed with a standout, powerful chorus to help tackle them head-on.

Speaking of the track, vocalist and guitarist Thomas Haywood states:

It’s about waking up and seizing the day with both your hands firmly gripped around its neck, to the point where you know you’re a better person by the end of it. I had a lot to say about the matter, so subconsciously probably chose the song we’d worked on the least, in terms of seeing how far we could push it musically and made up for it lyrically. As a band, we’d rarely let a song exist in such a basic form… but upon writing the lyrics the tone was right. The words came very fast. When all was said and done it was probably over in about half an hour.

The single can be found on the band’s forthcoming EP, Electric Kool-Aid (Part II), the companion to Part I – which was released earlier this year. Part II finds itself much darker than its predecessor, through the striking and sacrificial Ritual Of The Crocodile Men, the post-punk inspired tones of Just To See You, before finishing with the prismatic trip of Acid Bath.

Electric Kool-Aid (Part II) EP track listing

  1. Ritual Of The Crocodile Men
  2. Just To See You
  3. Fight For It
  4. Acid Bath

The Blinders are currently taking their well-loved live performances on the road, supporting The Cribs across the UK, before their own headline show in London on March 15th.

The Blinders March 2022 Tour dates

March 15th – London, The Social SOLD OUT

Supporting The Cribs

  • March 1st: Birmingham O2 Institute
  • March 2nd: Norwich Waterfront
  • March 4th: Sheffield Academy
  • March 6th: Manchester Academy
  • March 8th: Newcastle Boiler Shop
  • March 9th: Glasgow SWG3
  • March 11th: London Roundhouse
  • March 12th: Brighton Chalk
  • March 13th: Bristol Marble Factory
Listen on Apple Music

Katie Macbeth

katie macbeth

Katie Macbeth is a freelance music journalist for Indie Is Not A Genre based out of Manchester, presenter of @drunktankthink, and post punk enthusiast.

This page may contain affiliate links to providers from whom Indie Is Not A Genre receives a commission. These links are marked with an asterisk (*).

Scroll to Top