Home > News > Sam Fender returns with new album & single ‘Seventeen Going Under’

Sam Fender returns with new album & single ‘Seventeen Going Under’

New album out October 8th

Sam Fender returns with brand new music
© Jack Whitefield

Premiered by BBC Radio 1’s Annie Mac as Hottest Record In The World, Seventeen Going Under is the brand new single by North Shields crooner Sam Fender. The song is also the title track of his forthcoming new album set for release on October 8th 2021. Listen to Seventeen Going Under below.

Musically and thematically, Seventeen Going Under picks up where Hypersonic Missiles left off. Armed with social critique and keen political observation, the new single tackles the pains of growing up in a small town all the while focussing on the central theme of friends and family. Fender’s on point lyrics draw a vivid picture of the events he encountered while growing up in the north of England (such as “See I spent my teens enraged / Spiralling in silence / And arm myself with a grin”), all the while making the song relatable to anyone who struggled with being seventeen years of age. Coated with upbeat drums, soaring guitars and Fender’s massive vocal capabilities, Seventeen Going Under promises to be an instant classic.

This album is a coming of age story. It’s about growing up. It’s a celebration of life after hardship, and it’s a celebration of surviving.

Sam Fender

The new album follows on from Fender’s number 1 UK album Hypersonic Missiles, released in October 2019, as well as the standalone singles All Is On My Side and Hold On. Propelled by the success of the 2019 debut record, the Brit Award winner has been busy playing sold out shows both sides of the ocean until the pandemic put a halt on life. So Fender returned to his home town and began working on album number two with long-time friend and producer Bramwell Bronte who had also produced Hypersonic Missiles.

Seventeen Going Under artwork & tracklisting

Sam Fender Seventeen Going Under album artwork
  1. Seventeen Going Under
  2. Getting Started
  3. Aye
  4. Get You Down
  5. Long Way Off
  6. Spit Of You
  7. Last To Make It Home
  8. The Leveller
  9. Mantra
  10. Paradigm
  11. The Dying Light

Sam Fender’s new album Seventeen Going Under will be released on October 8th and is available to pre-order* as of now.

Sam Fender Tickets*

Deborah Jacobs

Music blogger by night, SEO by day. Started Indie is not a Genre in 2011, will always prefer live music over recordings and intimate pub gigs over arena shows.

This page may contain affiliate links to providers from whom Indie Is Not A Genre receives a commission. These links are marked with an asterisk (*).

Scroll to Top