Toothless artwork Ed Nash, bassist for Bombay Bicycle Club, has a new solo project, titled Toothless. His debut album The Pace of the Passing is set for release on the 27th of January on Rostrum Records. The artwork and tracklisting can be found below. Single Sisyphus can be streamed below.

To all intents and purposes, Toothless and his debut record have been carefully conceived by Nash. Everything up to and including the album’s artwork ties into the central themes that run throughout the record including astronomy, myths and naturally, the passing of time.


As curious a moniker as it may seem, the name Toothless comes from a Raymond Pettibon drawing. The US artist (infamous amongst the 1980s LA punk scene for his gig posters) drew a tiger biting off a boy’s head with the caption, ‘Even toothless, she can still bite off a boy’s head.” The idea of something being toothless, but still having bite struck Ed as strangely compelling.

Marika Hackman (Palm’s Backside), Tom Fleming of Wild Beasts (The Midas Touch), Bombay collaborator Liz Lawrence (Party For Two), and The Staves (The Sirens) all add vocal flourishes to the respective songs, whilst Bombay Bicycle Club’s vocalist Jack Steadman shares the production duties with Ed himself.

Toothless artwork

The Pace of the Passing Track Listing:
1. Charon
2. Sisyphus
3. Palm’s Backside (Featuring Marika Hackman)
4. Alright Alright Alright
5. Midas Touch (Featuring Tom Fleming)
6. Party For Two (Featuring Liz Lawrence)
7. You Thought I Was Your Friend (I Want To Hurt You)
8. The Sun’s Midlife Crisis
9. The Sirens (Featuring The Staves)
10. Terra


Deborah Jacobs

Music blogger by night, SEO by day. Started Indie is not a Genre in 2011, will always prefer live music over recordings and intimate pub gigs over arena shows.

Scroll to Top