Blossoms announce new album ‘Ribbon Around The Bomb’, stream new single

Home > News > Blossoms announce new album ‘Ribbon Around The Bomb’, stream new single
© Madeleine Penfold

Blossoms have just announced their fourth album Ribbon Around The Bomb will be released on April 29th. Coinciding with the album announcement, the band have also shared their brand new single of the same name and an accompanying video directed by Arctic Monkeys creative director Edwin Burdis. Watch and listen below.

Speaking about the inspiration for Ribbon Around The Bomb singer Tom Ogden says:

While on tour in 2019 in Mexico, I visited Frida Kahlo’s house. Looking at her paintings on show, someone had described one of them as being like a ‘ribbon around a bomb’. I immediately thought that it was a great title for a song and album because of the imagery that it evoked in my mind. I thought about how lots of things in life could be described as being a ribbon around a bomb in the sense that as people we often dress things up which have a darkness lying beneath them

The new album follows on from 2020’s Fooling Loving Spaces, the band’s second UK Number 1 album. Like its predecessors, was produced by James Skelly (of the The Coral) und Rich Turvey at Parr Street Studios in Liverpool. The record revolves around a central character called ‘The Writer’. Tom explains:

The more songs I wrote, the more I realised that the writer referenced in the songs was in fact me. Having been so busy for the past eight years I and the band have never really had the chance to step back and reflect on what we’ve achieved. You’re so focused on the future; write the next album then tour. Your life is usually mapped out at least two years in advance

Ribbon Around The Bomb tracklisting

  • The Writer’s Theme
  • Ode To NYC
  • Ribbon Around The Bomb
  • The Sulking Poet
  • Born Wild
  • The Writer
  • Everything About You
  • Care For
  • Cinerama Holy Days
  • Edith Machinist
  • Visions
  • The Last Chapter

To celebrate the album’s release, the band will play a run of live shows this summer, including headline appearances at Y Not? and Truck Festival. A full headline tour will be announced for which a pre-sale will be available for fans who pre-order the new album or sign up here for pre-sale access (no purchase required). General sale will start in Friday, October 11th (tickets here*).

Ribbon Around The Bomb is available to pre-order on digital and limited edition formats.

Listen on Apple Music

Deborah Jacobs

Music blogger by night, SEO by day. Started Indie is not a Genre in 2011, will always prefer live music over recordings and intimate pub gigs over arena shows.

This page may contain affiliate links to providers from whom Indie Is Not A Genre receives a commission. These links are marked with an asterisk (*).

Scroll to Top