The Murder Capital Release New Single, Announce Album & UK and EU Tour

Home > News > The Murder Capital Release New Single, Announce Album & UK and EU Tour
© Marcus Prouse Jr.

Dubliners The Murder Capital return with their latest single, A Thousand Lives, which came accompanied with the announcement of the band’s long awaited second album, Gigi’s Recovery, set for release on January 20th via Human Season. 

The follow up to July’s Only Good Things, A Thousand Lives is emotive and raw. Speaking of the track, lead singer James McGovern states:

Knowing that the day is only X-hours long, alongside my understanding of how love can be the true restorative seed, means that if and when you are so lucky to find it (and it is true) the seemingly small glance that is our lifetime could never contain enough of those days or those hours. Even a thousand of those lifetimes would never be enough.

A Thousand Lives arrives paired with its accompanying music video, a striking number directed by Tommy Davies. 

Following an emotive return to the stage in London last night at a sold-out Lafayette, the band return with details of their 2023 UK and Europe tour – with a limited 48 hour presale taking place this coming Monday, before general sale begins on Wednesday. 

Gigi’s Recovery sees The Murder Capital return with more confidence than ever before, pushing them into braver territories through ambitious instrumentation and bold melodies. 

The Murder Capital Tour Dates

  • Feb 4 Trix Club, Antwerp, BEL
  • Feb 5 Luxor, Cologne, GER
  • Feb 6 Molotow Musikclub, Hamburg, GER
  • Feb 8 Lido, Berlin, GER
  • Feb 9 Hansa 39, Munich, GER
  • Feb 11 Laiterie Club, Strasbourg, FR
  • Feb 13 Le Trabendo, Paris, FR
  • Feb 14 Paradiso, Amsterdam, NE
  • Feb 16 Albert Hall, Manchester, UK
  • Feb 18 SWG3, Glasgow, UK
  • Feb 20 Stylus, Leeds, UK
  • Feb 21 The Mill, Birmingham, UK
  • Feb 23 The O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
  • Feb 24 The Marble Factory, Bristol, UK
  • Feb 26 Vicar Street, Dublin, IRE
  • Feb 27 The Tramshed, Cardiff, UK

The Irish post-punks returned this July with their first taste of upcoming music, arriving in the shape of Only Good Things. The single follows on from the band’s 2019 debut, When I Have Fears, which reached a Top 20 UK Chart position and received critical acclaim. 

Speaking of the single, frontman James McGovern states:

This track for us has been an exciting evolution for the band. It’s so bright. It’s so colourful. This is a part of the narrative of the overall record that we feel reaches a real place of inner calm, inner peace but at its core, it’s a love song. You get a song like this where, the protagonist in this song is quite simply asking – not pleading – just willing to ask their counterpart to rid them of their intrusive thoughts, the devils on their shoulders and to be truly vulnerable.”

A brighter, more optimistic release in comparison to When I Have Fears, ‘Only Good Things’ marks a new era for the band, as James continues, ‘We’re so excited to go to a place like this because perhaps it’s not what is expected of us. It stood out to me during the creation of this record that it is more about the friends that are still here and celebrating those connections, those relationships and being unafraid of life and it’s many seasons. Where ‘Only Good Things’ stands within the record is at a moment where the sonic and the lyrical narrative especially, are of newfound joy.”

The Murder Capital have already made their live return this year performing at the likes of Primavera Sound, VYV Festival, Solidays, as well as opening for Pearl Jam earlier this month.

Listen on Apple Music

Katie Macbeth

katie macbeth

Katie Macbeth is a freelance music journalist for Indie Is Not A Genre based out of Manchester, presenter of @drunktankthink, and post punk enthusiast.

This page may contain affiliate links to providers from whom Indie Is Not A Genre receives a commission. These links are marked with an asterisk (*).

Scroll to Top