Hippo Campus
Hippo Campus Bambi press shot
Credit: Pooneh Ghana

Minneapolis quintet Hippo Campus today reveal their new single Bambi, the title track of their second album which will be released on September 28th via Transgressive Records. Listen to Bambi below.

The new album was once again  produced by BJ Burton (Bon Iver, Sylvan Esso, Francis & The Lights) and follows on from their critically acclaimed debut album Landmark as well as the Warm Glow EP. The 10 track album will also include recent single Passenger as well as 8 previously unreleased songs. The artwork and full tracklisting can be found below.


Bambi was in part shaped by recent discussions about mental health and the #MeToo Movement. Vocalist Jake Luppen explains:

That really made us take a look at how toxic masculinity has influenced the way we see ourselves and the world overall. In the past we might have been apprehensive about being super-vulnerable, but now we’re more aware of how important it is to come forward about dealing with depression or anxiety.

Hippo Campus Bambi cover artwork

Bambi tracklisting:

  1. Mistakes
  2. Anxious
  3. Doubt
  4. Bambi
  5. Why Even Try
  6. Think It Over
  7. Bubbles
  8. Honestly
  9. Golden
  10. Passenger

Following on from two sold out nights at Omeara, London this August and their appearance at Reading/Leeds, Hippo Campus will return to the UK and Europe in the spring of 2019. The UK leg will include a night at London’s Shepherds Bush Empire. All dates and ticket links can be found below.

Bambi is available to pre-order now via all digital retailers. An exclusive LP bundle and other physical formats will be available from the band’s website as of August 28th.

Video: Hippo Campus – Bambi

Listen on Apple Music

Deborah Jacobs

Music blogger by night, SEO by day. Started Indie is not a Genre in 2011, will always prefer live music over recordings and intimate pub gigs over arena shows.

Scroll to Top