Twin Atlantic announce new album ‘Transparency’

Listen to new single 'One Man Party'

Home > News > Twin Atlantic announce new album ‘Transparency’
© Cameron Brisbane
  • New album Transparency out January 7th 2022
  • New single & video for One Man Party out now
  • Departure of founding member Craig Kneale
  • Free 10 year anniversary shows announced

Following on from last year’s massive album Power, and recent single Bang On The Gong, Scottish rockers Twin Atlantic today announce their new album Transparency will be released on January 7th 2022. Coinciding with this news, the band also share new single and video One Man Party. Watch and listen below.

The video for One Man Party was shot in one take and directed by Nick Afchain who also did the video for Bang On The Gong. As with most new records, Transparency was recorded during the lockdown. Singer Sam McTrusty comments on making the album:

After the challenges put in front of everyone in 2020 and 21 I did what I’ve always done in moments of turmoil, stress or anxiety and started to write songs. It slowly evolved into an album and something we feel puts a new stamp on our band which really excites us.

The new album once again marks a new chapter for the Scottish band, now a duo, with the departure of founding member and drummer Craig Kneale, who comments:

It is with a heavy heart and so many great memories that I’ve decided to step back from Twin Atlantic. I love this band and still believe that big things lie ahead – but this feels like the right time for me to jump off and try something new. To have been able to travel the world and play music with my best friends for 15 years has been the greatest privilege. To everyone that’s supported the band over the years – you are the fuel that makes this all mean something. Thank you. What a joy it’s been to be in a band with Sam, Ross & Barry. It still feels like a dream. Craig x

Free 10 Year Anniversary Tour in May

  • Thu 5th – Ireland, Dublin, Opium
  • Fri 6th – Belfast, The Limelight
  • Sun 8th – London, Roundhouse
  • Mon 9th – Newcastle, Boiler Shop
  • Wed 11th – Inverness, Ironworks
  • Thu 12th – Glasgow, Barrowland
  • Sun 15th – Leeds, Stylus
  • Tue 17th- Manchester, O2 Ritz
  • Wed 18th – Bristol, O2 Academy
  • Thu 19th – Birmingham, o2 Institute

With live music slowly making its highly anticipated comeback, the band will hat the road this month for their rescheduled UK headline tour. Remaining tickets are available here*. They have also announced a fresh run of shows for May 2022 to celebrate the 10th anniversary of their breakout-album Free. Tickets will go on general sale on September 10th, a pre-sale will be available for those who pre-order the new album* via the store or sign up to the mailing list (no purchase necessary).

Sam comments on the anniversary tour:

We’ve very rarely ever been a band who look back, but during the lockdown, ‘Free’ turned 10 years old. It hit another landmark of selling 100,000 copies in the UK. To celebrate that, we wanted to do something in return and finally play an album from start to end live. Can’t wait to see you all there!

Transparency is available to pre-save and pre-order on limited edition vinyl* and other formats.

Listen on Apple Music

Deborah Jacobs

Music blogger by night, SEO by day. Started Indie is not a Genre in 2011, will always prefer live music over recordings and intimate pub gigs over arena shows.

This page may contain affiliate links to providers from whom Indie Is Not A Genre receives a commission. These links are marked with an asterisk (*).

Scroll to Top