The Wombats announce new album ‘Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life’


The Wombats have just revealed their their new album Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life will be released on Kobalt Music on February 9th 2018. The band have also revealed the album’s first single Lemon to a Knife Fight which is streaming below.

Vocalist Matthew ‘Murph’ Murphy comments on the new track:

came around after my wife and I had a huge argument on Mulholland Drive. I’d been watching tons of David Lynch too, the song just kind of fell out of me.

Written in three completely different locations around the world – with drummer Dan Haggis in London, bassist Tord Øverland Knudsen with his family in Oslo and frontman Murph in Los Angeles – Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life was created in long distance and intensive, two-week sessions in Oslo and produced by Mark Crew (Bastille, Rag’n’Bone Man) and Catherine Marks (Wolf Alice).

The Wombats – Lemon To A Knife Fight

While previous album Glitterbug dealt with Murph’s long-distance relationship, the singer finds himself newly married and resident in LA for Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life. The record explores a maturer side of the Liverpool-based trio which is already evident from the new single.

Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life is available to pre-order as of now. Check out the artwork and tracklisting below.

Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life tracklisting:

  1. Cheetah Tongue
  2. Lemon to a Knife Fight
  3. Turn
  4. Black Flamingo
  5. White Eyes
  6. Lethal Combination
  7. Out Of My Head
  8. I Only Wear Black
  9. Ice Cream
  10. Dip You In Honey
  11. I Don’t Know Why I Like You But I Do

Tour dates:



Music blogger by night, SEO by day. Started Indie is not a Genre in 2011, will always prefer live music over recordings and intimate pub gigs over arena shows.

scroll to top
Indie is not a genre

Indie is not a genre