Loose Fit announce debut album ‘Social Graces’, stream new single

Home > News > Loose Fit announce debut album ‘Social Graces’, stream new single
© Gabriel Castro

Australian punks Loose Fit announce their debut album, titled Social Graces, which is set for release on April 29th, via FatCat Records. The debut album follows on from the success of their debut EP and their latest track, Exhale. Partnering the announcement, the band have also shared the lead single, also titled Social Graces.

A frantic, frenzied, 2 and a half minute long track, Social Graces is a jaunty blast of nervy punk. Written in 2020, Social Graces is inspired by the nervous tension that was felt by everyone after the first few months of COVID-19 restrictions and how people had to re-learn how to socialise as restrictions began to ease.

Accompanying the release, the band have also shared the music video for Social Graces, directed by Solomon Thomas, that further portrays the song’s themes of social anxiety and discomfort.

Social Graces tracklisting

  1. Social Graces
  2. Cool Change
  3. Stupid Drama
  4. Cut Your Teeth
  5. Exhale
  6. Mosquito
  7. Colours For The Walls
  8. Best Face Forward
  9. On Land
  10. Enemies
  11. Potential Things

I think the album is a truthful document of a weird time. Covid-era has sucked (of course), but did give us time to explore new sounds and ways of working. It was a shit time to be a band, but it was great to have a vessel to channel all our anxieties and pent-up energy into. I think the album has all that fucked-up 2020/2021 energy in it.

Bassist Richard Martin

Previous album single Exhale is written about the tension between letting go, facing deeply into desire, into passion, and trying to maintain steadiness in the process – it’s about that inner struggle. The release of Exhale cements Loose Fit as an extremely exciting and inventive post-punk outfit, held together by the band’s signature bassline and creating a track that is both chaotic and danceable.

The accompanying music video for the track, directed by Rhett Hammerton, references the cult 70’s Aussie film Wake In Fright, truly capturing the anxiety held within Exhale. Exhale is an exciting release from Loose Fit that will leave listeners hungry for more, lead vocalist Anna Langdon is enticing whilst the instrumentation is visceral and raw. Loose Fit are back and they are on top form.

Set for release in April, Loose Fit’s debut album is a journey through familiar, relatable experiences as well as sharp observations of absurdity. The album features 11-tracks of anxiety-driven post-punk featuring the distinctive chants of lead singer and saxophonist Anna Langdon.

Listen on Apple Music

Katie Macbeth

katie macbeth

Katie Macbeth is a freelance music journalist for Indie Is Not A Genre based out of Manchester, presenter of @drunktankthink, and post punk enthusiast.

This page may contain affiliate links to providers from whom Indie Is Not A Genre receives a commission. These links are marked with an asterisk (*).

Scroll to Top