© Tom Ham

IDLES announce the release date of their 4th album, Crawler, their 4th album in as many years. Set to be released on November 12th via Partisan Records, Crawler follows on from the band’s 2020, number 1, album, Ultra Mono. Partnering the announcement, IDLES have also shared the album’s lead single, The Beachland Ballroom. Listen below.

Named after an iconic venue in Ohio, The Beachland Ballroom features the ever-gripping vocal performance of frontman Joe Talbot, before the signature IDLES instrumentation takes a hold. Speaking about the track, Joe Talbot states:

It’s the most important song on the album, really. There’s so many bands that go through the small rooms and dream of making it into the big rooms. Being able to write a soul tune like this made me go, fuck — we’re at a place where we’re actually allowed to go to these big rooms and really appreciate what we’ve got. The song is sort of an allegory of feeling lost and getting through it.

Crawler is a 14-track body of work recorded at Real World Studios in Bath during the pandemic, and covers vivid stories touching topics such as trauma, addiction and recovery.

Crawler Tracklisting

  1. MTT 420 RR
  2. The Wheel
  3. When the Lights Come On
  4. Car Crash
  5. The New Sensation
  6. Stockholm Syndrome
  7. The Beachland Ballroom
  8. Crawl!
  9. Meds
  10. Kelechi
  11. Progress
  12. Wizz
  13. King Snake
  14. The End

IDLES are set to make their return to the stage on a sold-out, twenty three date US tour which starts next month, before embarking on a massive UK tour next January and February. Tickets are available here*.

Listen on Apple Music

Katie Macbeth

katie macbeth

Katie Macbeth is a freelance music journalist for Indie Is Not A Genre based out of Manchester, presenter of @drunktankthink, and post punk enthusiast.

This page may contain affiliate links to providers from whom Indie Is Not A Genre receives a commission. These links are marked with an asterisk (*).

Scroll to Top