Crows Share Brexit Anthem ‘Garden Of England’ from upcoming album, ‘Beware Believers’

Home > News > Crows Share Brexit Anthem ‘Garden Of England’ from upcoming album, ‘Beware Believers’
© Jamie Noise

London’s Crows have shared the latest taste of their upcoming second album, Beware Believers, which is set for release on April 1st, in the shape of Garden Of England. The latest offering follows on from previous singles, Slowly Separate and Room 156.

Another insight into the Summer of 2019 (when the album was written),Garden Of England is written about the times when Brexit dominated our screens and conversations, where lies were often being told by public figures, and the country was divided over what England should become.

Speaking about the release, lead vocalist James Cox states:

This is straight-up our Brexit anthem. Don’t get me wrong, I couldn’t care less which way you voted, your vote, your choice. I just hated how much Brexit had become so ingrained in our day-to-day life. First thing I’d hear when I woke up and the last thing I’d read before I went to sleep at night. It became all people spoke about.’ He continues, ‘Garden of England’ is more of a comment about the divisiveness it caused, splitting families, friends, widening the north-south divide, and empowering nationalism. Public figures’ ability to lie publicly and not be held accountable, it’s just dangerous dog-whistle politics that doesn’t belong in the UK.

The track’s release is partnered by its accompanying music video, which was directed by Joe Hoffman and Phoebe May, that tells the story of the ‘Journeyman’ and his daughter in Kent – The Garden of England.

The new song follows on from recent release, Slowly Separate, their first new music in over 3 years. The release of Slowly Separate accompanies the announcement of the band’s long-awaited second album, titled Beware Believers, set for release on April 1st. 

Speaking about Slowly Separate, frontman James Cox states:

‘Slowly Separate is about living in London, working a job you hate and just going through the mundane routine of hand to mouth living. London’s been my home for 13 years, and this song translates to any city and anytime you’re working a job that doesn’t fulfil you. When it gets to the end of the month, all your rent and bills come out and you’re barely left with enough to get through the next month. It gets to you, I’m sure a lot of people can relate. It just makes it sweeter when you are finally making changes in your life for the better and you can leave those feelings in the past.”

Crows are set to tour the UK and Europe this April in support of Beware Believers, including a show at London’s iconic venue, Scala (tickets are available here*). The band are also set to play in Texas this month for SXSW.

Crows Tour Dates

  • 05/04/22 – Bristol, UK @ The Exchange
  • 06/04/22 – Cardiff, UK @ Clwb Ifor Bach
  • 08/04/22 – Manchester, UK @ YES
  • 09/04/22 – Birmingham, UK @ Muthers Studio
  • 10/04/22 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
  • 11/04/22 – Glasgow, UK @ The Garage
  • 12/04/22 – Sheffield, UK @ Sidney & Matilda
  • 13/04/22 – London, UK @ Scala
  • 17/04/22 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
  • 18/04/22 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique
  • 20/04/22 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow
  • 21/04/22 – Berlin, DE @ Frannz Club

Both pleasure-seeking and aggressive, Beware Believers perfectly captures the raucous energy that Crows have gained attention for on stage. The albums release follows on from the critically acclaimed debut album, Silver Tongues, international touring and huge festival appearances and support slots with the likes of IDLES, Gilla Band, Wolf Alice, Slaves and Metz.

Listen on Apple Music

Katie Macbeth

katie macbeth

Katie Macbeth is a freelance music journalist for Indie Is Not A Genre based out of Manchester, presenter of @drunktankthink, and post punk enthusiast.

This page may contain affiliate links to providers from whom Indie Is Not A Genre receives a commission. These links are marked with an asterisk (*).

Scroll to Top