Brighton quartet Black Honey have recently announced their brand new album A Fistful Of Peaches will be released on March 17th 2023 on FoxFive Records. Following on from previous single Heavy, the four piece have dropped the new single Up Against It.

Singer and mastermind Izzy B. Philipps comments on Up Against It:


This song is an open letter to my younger self. And to every young discriminated and marginalised person out there. I want so bad to give them an anthem that was instead of “fuck the world” would give them a screaming discovery of new found kindness towards themselves

The accompanying video sees the band perform as child versions of themselves. Check it out below.

Grunde laden single ‘Heavy’ out now

Previous single Heavy was written after the band’s fan club founder passed away from Covid. The line “Serotonin let us down/ Don’t wanna watch the white horse drown” is a reference to the death of Artax in ‘The Neverending Story’ (yep, the one with the white horse drowning in the swamp…).

Frontwoman Izzy B. Philipps comments on the track:

We wrote this song the day I found out the founder of our fan club passed away from Covid-19. We were talking about the weight of grief and the way it holds you down, about the parallels between grief and depression. The weight of mental illness and how it brings you a deeper understanding of grief. There’s always a glimmer of light though and I love how Heavy has that kind glitter darkness. It’s in my nature to become co-dependant and I think in this song I’m reaching for someone to help me climb back out. I talk a bit about the never-ending story as it was my first dialog with death and depression as a child. Watching Artax the horse getting swallowed by the nothing whilst Atreyu screamed helplessly from the edges of a swamp really spoke to me.

Izzy B. Philipps

The new track from with a stunning video directed by Drag Race UK’s Dakota Schiffer who comments on the inspiration behind the visuals:

For my directorial debut it was crucial to me that Heavy centred around the themes of trans femininity. A self-portrait of a struggling trans person who’s exterior appears alluring and glamorous but is constructed out of a need for survival… Writing the lipstick on the mirror as a reference to Butterfield 8, an infamously misogynistic movie starring Elizabeth Taylor, is the finale to a dreamscape of an evening in which the song narrates perfectly.”


A Fistful Of Peaches was promises to be Black Honey’s most personal album yet and dives into mental health and trauma as Izzy explains:

I’d been in intense therapy which was exhausting, and what came out was just me regurgitating things from my entire life and building my brain cells back to how they should be… Most of this record is me trying to figure out where the line is between normal mental health and when you’re having breakdowns every day that then become part of normal. I thought everyone cried everyday, I thought everyone had traumatic flashbacks and nightmares. This album is like, what the fuck? I didn’t have to have that?

A Fistful Of Peaches Tracklist

  1. Charlie Bronson
  2. Heavy
  3. Ups Against It
  4. Out of My Mind
  5. Rock Bottom
  6. Cut the Cord
  7. OK
  8. I’m a Man
  9. Nobody Knows
  10. Weirdos
  11. Tombstone
  12. Bummer

The announcement follows on from recent single Out Of My Mind and Charlie Bronson, both of which will be featured on the album.

A Fistful Of Peaches is available to pre-order now on limited edition vinyl and other formats.

Black Honey Tour Dates

To celebrate the album’s release, the band will head on a UK tour in March. Tickets are available here*.

  • 24/03/23 Bedford – Esquires
  • 25/03/23 Norwich – Arts Centre
  • 26/03/23 Birmingham – O2 Academy2
  • 28/03/23 Exeter – Cavern
  • 29/03/23 Bristol – Thekla
  • 31/03/23 Brighton – CHALK
  • 01/04/23 Nottingham – Rescue Rooms
  • 02/04/23 Sheffield – Foundry
  • 04/04/23 Manchester – Gorilla
  • 05/04/23 Newcastle – University
  • 06/04/23 Glasgow – Classic Grand
  • 08/04/23 Liverpool – District
  • 09/04/23 Stoke – Sugarmill
  • 11/04/23 Southend – Chinnerys
  • 12/04/23 London – KOKO
Listen on Apple Music

Deborah Jacobs

Music blogger by night, SEO by day. Started Indie is not a Genre in 2011, will always prefer live music over recordings and intimate pub gigs over arena shows.

This page may contain affiliate links to providers from whom Indie Is Not A Genre receives a commission. These links are marked with an asterisk (*).

Scroll to Top