© Bridie Florence

With a little over a month left until the release of their debut EP, You’re Welcome, via Big Scary Monsters on 19th May, Lambrini Girls have today shared their latest offering, Lads Lads Lads

The track tackles toxic masculinity with brutal guitars and aggressive vocals, speaking ofLads Lads Lads – the band state:

In order to be a lad, make sure to follow the following guidelines: excessive drinking, harassing anyone with a pulse and starting fights. Most importantly, make sure to never talk about your feelings as this simply cannot be associated with manliness. Lad culture is the shit stain on the bathroom floor and toxic masculinity is the toilet paper that refuses to unstick from the shoe of society. Nobody wins.

After making a name for themselves for their energetic live shows, the band are set to open for Iggy Pop for his Dog Day Afternoon at London’s Crystal Palace on 1st July, as well as embarking on their headline tour this May / June, alongside a long list of festival appearances including The Great Escape, Truck Festival, 2000 Trees and many more.

The new track follows on from recent single, White Van, the second offering from their forthcoming debut EP. A satirical take on cat-calling about the story of being followed by a white van: White Van is a call to arms, a message to street harassers, featuring seething vocals and rowdy background. Speaking of the track, the band state:

We’re taught, systemically, that it’s our sole responsibility to prevent our harassment. ‘What were you wearing?’ or ‘You shouldn’t have walked home by yourself’, implies your body in a public place is considered public property. If you do not modify your behaviour in everyday life to protect yourself, then it’s your fault entirely. Instead of blaming us, maybe we should point the finger at Terry with his dick out behind the wheel and the system that has enabled his behaviour for years.

Lambrini Girls’ debut EP, You’re Welcome, features the previous single, Help Me I’m Gay – which helped vocalist Phoebe Lunny come out to her mum, alongside White Van, and four other tracks, Boys In The Band – which calls out abusers in the music industry, Terf Wars which has a simple message – transphobia has no place in feminism, Mr. Lovebomb – which addresses altering behaviours in relationships, and Lads Lads Lads tackling toxic masculinity. 

Partnering with the release of the single, and EP announcement, the band also share details of their headline tour, taking place this Summer. 

Lambrini Girls Tour Dates

  • Fri 21/04/2023 – Printemps de Bourges @ le 22, Bourges
  • Sat 22/04/2023 – Badlands @ Kinky Star, Gent
  • Sat 29/04/2023 – La Grenze, Strasboug
  • Sun 30/04/2023 – Aeronef, Lille
  • Fri 05/05/2023 – Aralunaires @ Entrepot, Arlon
  • Sat 06/05/2023 – Are You Listening? Festival, Reading
  • Fri 12/05/2023 – The Great Escape, Brighton
  • Fri 19/05/2023 – Resident, Brighton
  • Sat 20/05/2023 – Celebrate This Place @ Tramshed, Cardiff
  • Sat 27/05/2023 – Levitation, Angers
  • Wed 31/05/2023 – Lexington, London
  • Sat 03/06/2023 – SUBU Summer Ball, Bournemouth
  • Fri 09/06/2023 – Aucard de Tours, Tours
  • Sat 10/06/2023 – Fete de L’ilot, Dunkerque
  • Tue 13/06/2023 – Heartbreakers, Southampton
  • Wed 14/06/2023 – Rough Trade, Bristol
  • Thu 15/06/2023 – Yes basement, Manchester
  • Fri 16/06/2023 – Hug & Pint, Glasgow
  • Sat 17/06/2023 – Ferocious – Alternative Pride, Leeds
  • Sun 18/06/2023 – Norwich Arts Center, Norwich
  • Thu 29/06/2023 – Garorock, Marmande
  • Sat 01/07/2023 – Crystal Palace, London – with Iggy Pop
  • Thu 06/07/2023 – 2000trees Festival, Cheltenham
  • Sun 16/07/2023 – Dour Festival, Dour
  • Fri 21/07/2023 – Truck Festival, Steventon
  • Fri 04/08/2023 – Micro Festival, Liège
  • Sat 05/08/2023 – Absolutely Free Festival, Genk
  • Sat 19/08/2023 – Cabaret Vert, Charleville Mezieres
  • Sat 09/09/2023 – Misty Fields, Asten-Heusden
  • Sat 07/10/2023 – Future Days, Birmingham

Help Me I’m Gay available now

The announcement single follows on from last year’s single, Help Me I’m Gay. First performed live at the band’s socially distanced, seated shows at Brighton’s Dome during lockdown, the track fully came to life as lead vocalist Phoebe Lunny came out to her mum on stage after downing three bottles of wine, unbeknownst to her – her whole family was also watching the performance on livestream and Christmas have never been the same since. 

Speaking on the track, the band state:

This song is about the trivialisation of queer people. Shag whoever you want, don’t let anyone put you in a box and if you do ever find yourself in one, then know you can shag your way out of it.

Having been a staple of Brighton’s scene for a long time, Lambrini Girls’ 2021 singles were what propelled them to gain attention from a whole new bunch of listeners. Since then, the three-piece have supported the likes of Shame, Gilla Band and Pist Idiots, and are set to support Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes next month. 

Listen on Apple Music

Katie Macbeth

katie macbeth

Katie Macbeth is a freelance music journalist for Indie Is Not A Genre based out of Manchester, presenter of @drunktankthink, and post punk enthusiast.



This page may contain affiliate links to providers from whom Indie Is Not A Genre receives a commission. These links are marked with an asterisk (*).

Scroll to Top