Home > News > The 1975 drop new single ‘UGH!’

The 1975 drop new single ‘UGH!’

New album out February 26th 2016

The-1975 press image 2015

The-1975 press image 2015 The 1975 have just released the second single from their forthcoming second album and it goes by the short and to the point title UGH!. The single is taken from that album you can never remember the name of and is now streaming via spotify and apple music.

UGH! is a pretty funky tune and other than their first new single, Love Me, it sounds more like Prince than Bowie.


Frontman Matt Healy describes the track as “something that goes back to the early foundation of how we write music as The 1975,” however, Healy has claimed in earlier interviews that is about him “being flippant about cocaine.” – And indeed there is a bit of self reference in lines such as “the kick won’t last for long / but the song only lasts 3 minutes.”

I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It is out via DirtyHit on February 26th and is available for pre-order as of now.


The-1975 press image 2015 The 1975 I like it when you sleep artwork


  1. The 1975
  2. Love Me
  3. UGH!
  4. A Change Of Heart
  5. She’s American
  6. If I Believe You
  7. Please Be Naked
  8. lostmyhead
  9. Ballad Of Me and My Brain
  10. Somebody Else
  11. Loving Someone
  12. I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it
  13. The Sound
  14. This Must Be My Dream
  15. Paris
  16. Nana
  17. She Lays Down


The 1975 Tickets*

Deborah Jacobs

Music blogger by night, SEO by day. Started Indie is not a Genre in 2011, will always prefer live music over recordings and intimate pub gigs over arena shows.

This page may contain affiliate links to providers from whom Indie Is Not A Genre receives a commission. These links are marked with an asterisk (*).

Scroll to Top