Temples announce new album ‘Hot Motion’, stream new music


temples hot motion press shot

Temples have just announced the release of their third album Hot Motion for September 27th via ATO Records. Having severed the ties with previous label Heavenly Recordings, this is their debut on the esteemed indie label. They have also revealed a video for the album’s title track. Watch and listen below.

Hot Motion follows on from the critically acclaimed debut album Sun Structures and 2014’s Volcano which saw them play sold-out shows across Europe, the UK, and the US. Now a trio after the departure of drummer Samuel Toms, Temples have found a slightly darker David Lynch-ian undertone on Hot Motion as bassist Thomas Walmsley remarks:

It felt like there was a darker edge to what we were coming up with and we wanted to make sure that carried through across the whole record.

This is also visible in the performance video for the title track, which is “the tensions of desire, dreams and nightmares”.

temples hot motion cover artwork

Hot Motion tracklisting:

  1. Hot Motion
  2. You’re Either On Something
  3. Holy Horses
  4. The Howl
  5. Context
  6. The Beam
  7. Not Quite The Same
  8. Atomise
  9. It’s All Coming Out
  10. Step Down
  11. Monuments

Te celebrate the album’s release, the band have announced a UK and European headline tour starting in November. Tickets for these shows go on sale this Friday, June 7th at 10 AM GMT. This summer, they will perform at several festivals including Manchester Psych Fest and Shimmer Sounds Festival. All tour dates and ticket links can be found below.

Hot Motion is available to pre-order on digital and limited edition formats (including limited merch) via the official webstore.

Watch: Temples – Hot Motion

Tour dates:



Music blogger by night, SEO by day. Started Indie is not a Genre in 2011, will always prefer live music over recordings and intimate pub gigs over arena shows.

scroll to top
Indie is not a genre

Indie is not a genre