Cristobal And The Sea announce new album + new single

Cross European, London-based bossa nova pop act Cristobal and the Sea have have just announced their new album Exitoca is set for release September 22nd via City Slang. The band have also shared the first single from the record titled Goat Flokk which comes with a video. Listen/watch below.

With members hailing from all corners of the world including Portugal, Spain, France, Egypt and America, the record tackles what is very much happening in the here and now, and on topics directly affecting them, commenting on Brexit and other global political happenings.

Directed by new band member Elliott Arndt, the band spoke about the video saying

I wanted to create a sort of psychedelic and cinematic enigma by suggesting links betweens the characters and their actions yet never really giving anyone the satisfaction of knowing what the hell is going on. The song really just called for something surreal, fast-paced and random and that’s just what we went for.

The title is a reference to the genre known as Exotica, which represented the escapist dreams of a generation of American salary-men and housewives in the 50s and 60s. Cristobal and the Sea’s Exitoca is the attempt to free that dreamer movement from the grips of it’s privileged background and reclaim it for those who need it most now.

Exitoca tracklist:

1. Porcelanosa
2. Goat Flokk
3. Totem Tennis
4. Steal My Phone
5. Father and Producer
6. Salsa Dude
7. The Seed
8. Brother
9. Smadness
10. The Leaf Isn’t Turning Red
11. Before Nine
12. Uma Voz
13. Sa Ou Che
14. Take A Look At My Mind

To celebrate the album’s release, the band have announced a couple of shows. Dates can be found below.

Video: Cristobal And The Sea – Goat Flokk

Tour dates:



Music blogger by night, SEO by day. Started Indie is not a Genre in 2011, will always prefer live music over recordings and intimate pub gigs over arena shows.

scroll to top
Indie is not a genre

Indie is not a genre